For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Religious Observances Calendar

Policy Statement

Embodying a culturally and spiritually diverse community, Drexel University recognizes that on the occasion of important or solemn religious days, certain of its members will observe practices that preclude them from attending to their regular duties whether as faculty members or students. On the occasion of such days, it is important for all who do not share in these same practices to accommodate their colleagues and peers.

Religious Holidays Comprehensive Calendar

2019 Days Holiday Religion
Jan 1 Tuesday Mary, Mother of God Catholic Christian
Jan 1 Tuesday Feast Day of St Basil Orthodox Christian
Jan 1 Tuesday Gantan-sai(New Years) Shinto
Jan 1 Tuesday Feast of the Holy Name of Jesus Orthodox Christian
Jan 5 Saturday Twelfth Night Christian
Jan 5 Saturday Guru Gobindh Singh birthday Sikh
Jan 6 Sunday Epiphany Christian
Jan 6 Sunday Feast of the Epiphany (Theophany) Orthodox Christian
Jan 6 Sunday Dia de los Reyes (Three Kings Day) Christian
Jan 6 Sunday Nativity of Christ Armenian Orthodox
Jan 7 Monday Feast of the Nativity** Orthodox Christian
Jan 8 Tuesday Feast of the Holy Family Catholic Christian
Jan 13 Sunday Maghi Sikh
Jan 13 Sunday Baptism of the Lord Jesus Christian
Jan 17 Thursday Blessing of the Animals Hispanic Catholic Christian
Jan 18 Friday-Friday(25) Week of Prayer for Christian Unity Christian
Jan 19 Saturday Timkat Ethiopian Orthodox Christian
Jan 20 Sunday World Religion Day Baha'i
Jan 21 Monday-Wednesday(23) Mahayana New Year ** Buddhist
Jan 25 Friday Conversion of St. Paul Christian
Feb 2 Saturday Candlemas - Presentation of Christ in the Temple Christian
Feb 2 Saturday Imbolc - Lughnassah * Wicca/Pagan
Feb 2 Saturday Saint Brighid of Kildare Celtic Christian
Feb 3 Sunday St. Blaze Day Christian
Feb 3 Sunday Setsebun sai(beginning of spring) Shinto
Feb 3 Sunday Four Chaplains Sunday Interfaith
Feb 5 Tuesday Chinese New Year Confucian, Daoist, Buddhist
Feb 8 Friday Nirvana Day Buddhism
Feb 10 Sunday Tu BiShavat * Jewish
Feb 10 Sunday Cheese Fare Sunday Orthodox Christian
Feb 12 Tuesday Triodion Orthodox Christian
Feb 14 Thursday St. Valentine's Day Christian
Feb 15 Friday Nirvana Day ** Buddhist - Jain
Feb 17 Sunday Triodian begins Orthodox Christian
Feb 26 Tuesday Intercalary Days Baha'i
Feb 26 Tuesday Maha Shivaratri ** Hindu
Mar 1 Friday St. David of Wales Christian
Mar 1 Friday Intercalary Days end Baha'i
Mar 2 Saturday-Wednesday(20) Nineteen Day Fast * Baha'i
Mar 3 Sunday Meatfare Sunday Orthodox Christian
Mar 3 Sunday Transfiguration Sunday Christian
Mar 5 Tuesday Shrove Tuesday Christian
Mar 6 Wednesday Ash Wednesday - Lent begins Christian
Mar 10 Sunday Orthodox Sunday Orthodox Christian
Mar 11 Monday Clean Monday - Lent begins Orthodox Christian
Mar 13 Wedensday Birthday of L. Ron Hubbard Scientology
Mar 17 Sunday St. Patrick's Day Christian
Mar 19 Tuesday St. Joseph's Day Christian
Mar 20 Wednesday Ostara - Mabon * Wicca/Pagan
Mar 21 Thursday Norooz (New Year) Persian/Zoroastrian
Mar 21 Thursday Naw-Rúz(New Year) * Baha'i
Mar 21 Thursday Hola Mohalla Sikh
Mar 21 Thursday Magha Puja Day** Buddhist
Mar 21 Thursday Lord's Evening Meal Jehovah's Witness Christian
Mar 21 Thursday Purim* Jewish
Mar 25 Monday Annunciation of the Virgin Mary Christian
Mar 28 Thursday Khordad Sal (Birth of Prophet Zaranthushtra) ** Zoroastrian
Apr 3 Wednesday Lailat al Miraj * Islam
Apr 9 Tuesday Mahavir Jayanti ** Jain
Apr 14 Sunday Baisakhi (Vaisakhi) Sikh
Apr 14 Sunday Palm Sunday Christian
Apr 17 Wednesday Orthodox Sunday Orthodox Christian
Apr 18 Thursday Maundy Thursday Christian
Apr 19 Friday-Sunday(21) Theravadin New Year** Buddhist
Apr 19 Friday Good Friday Christian
Apr 20 Saturday-Saturday(27) Pesach* Jewish
Apr 20 Saturday Lazarus Saturday Orthodox Christian
Apr 21 Sunday Easter Christian
Apr 21 Sunday First Day of Ridvan * Baha'i
Apr 21 Sunday Lailat al Bara'ah * Islam
Apr 21 Sunday Palm Sunday Orthodox Christian
Apr 23 Tuesday St. George's Day Christian
Apr 26 Friday Holy Friday Orthodox Christian
Apr 28 Sunday Pascha - Easter Orthodox Christian
Apr 29 Monday Ninth Day of Ridvan Baha'i
Apr 30 Tuesday St. James the Great Day Orthodox Christian
Apr 30 Tuesday St. James the Great Day Orthodox Christian
May 1 Wednesday Beltane - Samhain* Wicca/Pagan
May 2 Thursday Last day of Ridvan * Baha'i
May 2 Thursday National Day of Prayer - USA Interfaith
May 2 Thursday Yom HaShoah Jewish
May 3 Friday Saints Philip & James Christian
May 6 Monday Ramadanbegins * Islam
May 9 Thursday Yom Ha'Atzmaut * Jewish
May 18 Saturday Visakha Puja- Buddha Day ** Buddhist
May 23 Thursday Declaration of the Bab* Baha'i
May 23 Thursday Lag B/Omer * Jewish
May 29 Wednesday Ascension of Baha'u'llah* Baha'i
May 30 Thursday Ascension of Jesus Christian
Jun 1 Saturday Laylat al Kadr * Islam
Jun 5 Wednesday-Friday(7) Eid al Fitr - Ramadan ends* Islam
Jun 6 Thursday Ascension of Jesus Orthodox Christian
Jun 9 Sunday St. Columba of Iona Celtic Christian
Jun 9 Sunday Pentecost Christian
Jun 9 Sunday-Monday(10) Shavuot * Jewish
Jun 15 Saturday Saint Vladimir Day Christian
Jun 16 Sunday Guru Arjan martyrdom Sikh
Jun 16 Sunday Trinity Sunday Christian
Jun 19 Wednesday New Church Day Swedenborgian Christian
Jun 20 Thursday Corpus Christi Catholic Christian
Jun 21 Friday Litha-Yule * Wicca/Pagan
Jun 22 Saturday First Nations Day Canadian Native People
Jun 23 Sunday All Saints Orthodox Christian
Jun 28 Friday Sacred Heart of Jesus Catholic Christian
Jun 29 Saturday Feast Day of Saints Peter and Paul Christian
Jul 9 Tuesday Martyrdom of the Bab * Baha'i
Jul 11 Thursday St Benedict Day Catholic Christian
Jul 13 Saturday Obon(Ulambana) ** Buddhist - Shinto
Jul 15 Monday St. Vladimir the Great Day Orthodox Christian
Jul 16 Tuesday Asalha Puja Day** Buddhist
Jul 24 Wednesday Pioneer Day Mormon Christian
Jul 25 Thursday St. James the Great Day Christian
Aug 1 Thursday Lammas Christian
Aug 1 Thursday Lughnassad - Imbolc * Wicca/Pagan
Aug 1 Thursday Fast in Honor of Holy Mother of Jesus Orthodox Christian
Aug 6 Tuesday Transfiguration of the Lord Orthodox Christian
Aug 10 Saturday Tish'a B'av Jewish
Aug 10 Saturday Waqf al Arafa * Islam
Aug 12 Monday-Thursday(15) Eid al Adha* Islam
Aug 15 Thursday Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary Catholic Christian
Aug 15 Thursday Dormition of the Theotokos Orthodox Christian
Aug 23 Friday Krishna Janmashtami** Hindu
Aug 29 Thursday Beheading of St. John the Baptist Christian
Sept 1 Sunday Ecclesiastical year begins Orthodox Christian
Sept 1 Sunday New Year - Hijra * Islam
Sept 3 Tuesday Paryushana Parva* Jain
Sept 8 Sunday Nativity of Virgin Mary Christian
Sept 10 Tuesday Ashura * Islam
Sept 14 Saturday Elevation of the Life Giving Cross (Holy Cross) Christian
Sept 23 Monday Mabon - Ostara* Wicca
Sept 27 Friday Meskel Ethiopian Christian
Sept 29 Sunday Michael and All Angels Christian
Sept 30 Monday-Tuesday(1) Rosh Hashanah* Jewish
Oct 4 Friday St Francis Day Catholic Christian
Oct 4 Friday Blessing of the Animals Christian
Oct 8 Tuesday Dasara** Hindu
Oct 9 Wednesday Yom Kippur * Jewish
Oct 14 Monday-Sunday(20) Sukkot * Jewish
Oct 14 Monday Thanksgiving - Canada Interfaith
Oct 18 Friday St. Luke, Apostle & Evangelist Christian
Oct 20 Sunday Birth of the Báb * Baha'i
Oct 20 Sunday installation of Scriptures as Guru Granth Sikh
Oct 21 Monday Shemini Atzeret * Jewish
Oct 22 Tuesday Simchat Torah * Jewish
Oct 27 Sunday Christ the King Christian
Oct 27 Sunday Diwali Sikh - Hindu - Jain
Oct 28 Monday Milvian Bridge Day Christian
Oct 28 Monday Jain New Year Jain
Oct 29 Tuesday Reformation Day Protestant Christian
Oct 31 Thursday All Hallows Eve Christian
Oct 31 Thursday Reformation Day Protestant Christian
Nov 1 Friday All Saints Day Christian
Nov 1 Friday Samhain - Beltane* Wicca/Pagan
Nov 2 Saturday All Souls Day Catholic Christian
Nov 10 Sunday Mawlid an Nabi * Islam
Nov 12 Tuesday Birth of Baha'u'llah * Baha'i
Nov 12 Tuesday Birthday of Guru Nanak Dev Sahib Sikh
Nov 15 Friday Nativity Fast begins - ends Dec. 24 Orthodox Christian
Nov 23 Saturday Thanksgiving Interfaith
Nov 24 Sunday Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahdur Sikh
Nov 26 Tuesday Christ the King Christian
Nov 26 Tuesday Day of the Covenant * Baha'i
Nov 28 Thursday Ascension of 'Abdu'l-Baha * Baha'i
Nov 28 Thursday Thanksgiving Interfaith USA
Nov 30 Saturday St. Andrew's Day Christian
Dec 1 Sunday-Tuesday(24) Advent Christian
Dec 6 Friday Saint Nicholas Day Christian
Dec 8 Sunday Bodhi Day (Rohatsu) ** Buddhist
Dec 8 Sunday Immaculate Conception of Mary Catholic Christian
Dec 12 Thursday Feast day - Our Lady of Guadalupe Catholic Christian
Dec 16 Monday-Wednesday(25) Posadas Navidenas Hispanic Christian
Dec 21 Saturday Yule Christian
Dec 21 Saturday Yule - Litha * Wicca/Pagan
Dec 23 Monday-Monday(30) Hanukkah * Jewish
Dec 24 Tuesday Christmas Eve Christian
Dec 25 Wednesday Christmas Christians
Dec 25 Wednesday Feast of the Nativity** Orthodox Christian
Dec 26 Thursday Zarathosht Diso (Death of Prophet Zarathushtra) ** Zoroastrian
Dec 26 Thursday St Stephen's Day Christian
Dec 27 Friday Saint John - Apostle and Evangelist Christian
Dec 28 Saturday Holy Innocents Christian
Dec 29 Sunday Holy Family Catholic Christian
Dec 31 Tuesday Watch Night Christian