For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Awards (NRSA)

The NIH Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Awards (NRSA) provide up to five years of support for research training leading to the Ph.D. or equivalent research degree, the combined M.D./Ph.D. degree; or another formally combined professional degree and research doctoral degree in  biomedical, behavioral, health services, or clinical sciences.

The overall goal of the program is to help ensure that a diverse pool of highly trained scientists is available in appropriate scientific disciplines to address the Nation's biomedical, behavioral, and clinical research needs. In order to accomplish this goal, NRSA training programs are designed to train individuals to conduct research and to prepare for research careers.

The NIH Kirschstein Awards consist of several fellowships (F-Series) that include the following:

  • F30 (dual doctoral degree fellowships, e.g., M.D.-Ph.D, D.D.S.-Ph.D)
  • F31 (predoctoral fellowships)
  • F31 (predoctoral fellowships – diversity)
  • F32 (postdoctoral fellowships)
For a complete listing of Fellowship Program Announcements (PAs), see the F-kiosk.

Fields of Study:

  • Biomedical, Behavioral, Health Services, or Clinical Services


  • United States

Program Type:

  • Research


  • US Citizen/National
  • US Permanent Resident

Program Length:

  • Up to Five Years


  • April; August; December 

Special Considerations:

  • Extreme financial need
  • Underrepresented racial or ethnic group
  • Female
  • Disabilities

Degree Level:

  • Graduate