For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

2014 Goldwater Scholarship Nominees

August 16, 2013

Congratulations to Drexel's nominees for the 2014 Goldwater Scholarship - Alex Benjamin, Jeremy Gaison, Veronika Legkobitova, and Matthew Parsons.

Alex Benjamin (Mechanical Engineering, BS/MS '15, Honors) is an undergraduate researcher at Drexel's Electrochemical Systems Laboratory (advisor: Dr. E. Caglan Kumbur) where he is working to optimize vanadium redox flow batteries for alternative energy storage.

Jeremy Gaison (Physics and Mathematics, BS '15, Honors) has conducted research as a STAR scholar and in two co-ops so far. At a U.S. Army research lab, he worked on nuclear physics experimental techniques. At Drexel, he has been working under the guidance of Drs. J Doug Wright and Shari Moskow in the Math department and with Drs. Charles Lane and Michelle Dolinski in Physics. Jeremy plans to work in the field of particle physics and neutrino research.

Veronika Legkobitova (Mechanical Engineering, BS/MS '16, Honors) has had research experiences at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, a U.S. Navy research lab, and nd Dr. Pramod Abichandani's lab at Drexel. She plans to pursue a career in biomechanical engineering, designing mechanical devices such as nanorobots for medical use.

Matthew Parsons (Physics, BS '15, Honors) has conducted research internships at the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the University of Maryland. He hopes to pursue research in computational plasma physics in support of the advancement of international fusion science and technology.


The Goldwater Scholarship was established by Congress in 1986, with the goal of recognizing the nation's top undergraduates in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math fields. The purpose of the Foundation is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians, and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields. For more information please email Rona Buchalter, Director, Fellowships Office.