For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Science & Technology - Global

Yury Gogotsi Named 2012 European Carbon Association Award Laureate

June 26, 2012

Dr. Yury Gogotsi at European Carbon Association
Dr. Yury Gogotsi (right) receives the 2012 European Carbon Association Award from ECA Chair Marc Monthioux.
The research of Drexel University’s Dr. Yury Gogotsi, director of the A.J. Drexel Nanotechnology Institute, has unlocked new and exciting uses of carbon that range from energy storage technology to biomedical applications. His contributions to the field of research and the international carbon research community were recognized by the European Carbon Association as an ECA Award Laureate at the 2012 World Conference on Carbon in Cracow, Poland on June 17-22.

The ECA selected Gogotsi, who is a distinguished University professor in Drexel’s College of Engineering and Trustee Chair of Materials Science, in acknowledgment of his involvement in the education and training of young carbon scientists at Drexel and around the world. Additionally, the honor recognizes his contributions to the research activities of several European groups and laboratories based in France, Germany and Ukraine, among others.

Among Gogotsi’s achievements on the international stage is his appointment as the lead partner representing the United States in the Erasmus Mundus international joint degree program “Materials for Energy Storage and Conversion.” The program is a partnership between seven universities in the United States, Poland, France, China and Spain that provides a two-year international master’s degree in energy sciences.

In addition, Gogotsi has collaborated with leading researchers in France, the United Kingdom, Germany and Ukraine and served as the leader for several international sponsored research projects. He currently oversees a group of 20 graduate, undergraduate and post-doctoral research associates in carbon nanomaterials research.

The ECA Award was created in 2009 and is given every three years at the European edition of the World Conference on Carbon. The laureate is selected from a pool of nominated applicants by a vote of the ECA representatives. Marc Monthiouox, chairman of the ECA, will present Gogotsi with the award at the World Conference on Carbon.


Media Contact:

Britt Faulstick