For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Drexel Employees Earn Top Honors at President’s Awards Ceremony

November 2, 2011

Presidents Awards 2011

Drexel’s faculty and professional staff, along with friends and supporters of the University, gathered on Wednesday, November 2 to celebrate the 2011 recipients of the President’s Awards. There were 180 people nominated for awards by their colleagues this year; seven awards were presented to a total of 38 recipients.

“While tonight we honor the winners of the President’s Awards, I am also here to celebrate every employee who helps Drexel stay a step ahead of our competitors,” said President John A. Fry.

“If Drexel has a satisfied student, if we make a groundbreaking research discovery, if we create positive change in our community and in the world, it’s because of you, the men and women who work here,” he added.

The ceremony included an inspirational address from Reneé Amoore, president of The Amoore Group, Drexel trustee and, later this month, the first recipient of the Joseph Jacovini Outstanding Service Award, Drexel’s highest honor for non-alumni service.

Renee Amore

The 2011 winners are:

President’s Award for Excellence for Non-Faculty Professional Staff

  • Robin Smith, Director for the Division of Clinical Education at the College of Medicine
  • Sarah Steltz, Workforce Development Manager in Human Resources
  • Althea Wallace, Human Resources Programs Support Manager
  • Drexel Website Redesign Team, a cross-functional team from Enrollment Management, Information Resources & Technology and University Communications including: Shane Bair, Larry Bender, Regan Buker, Melanie DeCinque, Rob Goldberg, Craig Kampes and Christian TeBordo.
  • Natalie Traher, Associate Director, on behalf of the Steinbright Career Development Center Management Team

President’s Award for Intercultural Engagement and Diversity

  • Rev. Brian Musser, Baptist Campus Minister

President’s Award for Volunteer Service

  • Dr. Steven Peitzman, College of Medicine, on behalf of the Health Outreach Project Volunteer Physicians Team at Drexel University College of Medicine.

President Fry said, “These 38 colleagues are true leaders, motivated by the desire to be their best, and to make Drexel the best. I am privileged to honor them all.”

President Fry also called to the stage Mack Arrogolia, a second-year medical student at Drexel representing The Homeless Outreach Program (HOP), to present a $4,500 on behalf of the Health Outreach Project Volunteer Physicians Team for the purchase of supplies and other support of the clinics. And he presented to Sister Cam Banh, representing The Holy Redeemer Chinese Catholic Church, a $1,500 gift from Drexel to assist with the renovation of the church’s exam rooms.