For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Commencement Honors 351 Future Medical Leaders

May 3, 2007

Drexel University College of Medicine will present 351 degrees to the graduating class of 2007 on May 18th at 10:00 a.m. at the Kimmel Center, 260 South Broad Street.

Delivering the keynote address will be Steven Wartman, MD, PhD, president and CEO of the Association of Academic Health Centers (AAHC). The AAHC is a national, non-profit organization that seeks to improve health and well-being through vigorous leadership of the nation’s academic health centers, including medical schools, nursing schools, and teaching hospitals. Dr. Wartman has a particular interest in public and international health, and advocates the importance of humanism in medicine. During the ceremony, Drexel University College of Medicine will recognize Dr. Wartman with an honorary doctoral degree.

Also receiving an honorary degree is Heinz Drexel, MD, Professor of the Vorarlberg Institute for Vascular Investigation and Treatment, Feldkirch, Austria. A descendant of the family which founded Drexel University, Dr. Drexel has taken a special interest in the College of Medicine.

In addition to medical students, degrees will be conferred to students of Drexel University College of Medicine’s various masters and PhD programs, including the College’s first-ever master of forensic science degree.

Of the 351 degrees awarded:

  • 248 doctor of medicine
  • 11 doctor of philosophy
  • 4 master of science
  • 13 master of laboratory animal science
  • 3 master of science in clinical research organization and management
  • 29 master of biological science
  • 36 master of medical science
  • 4 master of science in pathologists’ assistant
  • 1 joint MD/PhD
  • 1 joint MD/MBA
  • 1 master of forensic science – first class this year