For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Institute for Molecular Medicine & Infectious Disease 2014 International Symposium

Charles A. Dinarello, MD

Charles A. Dinarello, MD

Drexel Prize in Immunology Lecture:
"Blocking Interleukin-1-Mediated Inflammation: From Basic Biology to Clinical Benefits"

Charles A. Dinarello is professor of medicine and immunology at the University of Colorado School of Medicine and professor of experimental medicine at Radboud University in the Netherlands.  He was previously professor at Tufts University in Boston.  Dr. Dinarello received his medical degree from Yale University and clinical training at the Massachusetts General Hospital.  From 1971 77 he was at the National Institutes of Health in Bethesda.  Dr. Dinarello is considered one of the founding fathers of cytokines. He was the first to purify interleukin-1 (IL 1) in 1977 and identified IL 1α and IL 1β in 1974.  He lead the group for the first cloning of human IL 1 in 1984. He has published over 700 original research articles and 250 reviews, editorials and book chapters on inflammatory cytokines, particularly on Interleukin-1, the Interleukin-1 family and related cytokines. The Institute for Scientific Information listed Dr. Dinarello as the world's fourth most-cited scientist during the years 1983 to 2002; from 1996 to 2011, he was listed as one of the world’s most influential biomedical researchers.

In 1998, Dr. Dinarello was elected to the United States National Academy of Sciences, and in 2010, he was made a foreign member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences. He has received honorary degrees from the University of Marseille, the Weizmann Institute in Israel, the University of Frankfurt, Roosevelt University, Albany Medical College, Radboud University in the Netherlands and Trinity College in Ireland.

For his contributions to the field of cytokines and medicine, he received the Ernst Jung Prize in Medicine (Germany), Chirone Prize (Italian National Academy of Medicine), Carol Nachman Prize (Germany), Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashdid al Maktoum Award (United Arab Emirates), Beering Prize (USA), Albany Prize in Medical Research (USA), Crafoord Prize of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (Sweden), Paul Ehrlich Prize (Germany), Bonfils-Stanton Prize (USA), the Novartis Prize in Clinical Immunology (Switzerland), the Bonazinga Award (USA) and the Lifetime Achievement Award of the Eicosanoid Foundation. Dr. Dinarello donates the monies from prizes to the Interleukin Foundation, a charitable foundation he established to support research on cytokines to young investigators.

 Back to Top

Students walking down the hall at the Institute for Molecular Medicine and Infectious Disease at Drexel University College of Medicine.