What will happen to my existing User Folder Data?
Any data in your personal User Folder on your Department's File Share will be automatically migrated to your personal OneDrive, into a folder called SharedDriveUserFolder. After migration, your access to your old User Folder on the File Share will be removed.
If I already have OneDrive set up to sync to my local computer, will my data from my User Folder start syncing to my local computer?
Most likely, but it depends on how your OneDrive sync client is set up. Most users will have their sync clients set to sync everything from OneDrive to their local computer, but others may have already customized their sync settings.
If you do not want your User Folder data to be synced to your local computer, create a folder called SharedDriveUserFolder (as written) at the root of your OneDrive, and then change your OneDrive sync settings to not sync this folder. For information about Sync settings, see Microsoft's Windows or Mac documentation.
How do I know which folder is affected by this change?
If you received a notification from Drexel IT that your User Folder was being migrated to OneDrive, you can use our User Folder Information Lookup Tool to find the path of your former User Folder.
User Folder Information Lookup Tool
If you are prompted to allow/authorize access for a Office 365 Groups Connection, please allow it in order to view your information.
I have an important document in my User Folder that I will need on my migration day. What should I do to ensure I still have access to it?
If you have any important documents within your User Folder that you will need access to on your Migration Day, we recommend copying it or moving it to your OneDrive or another location that is accessible to you so that you have continued access while the rest of your data is being migrated.
What happens to our Departmental File Share after our User Folders are moved?
For all departments, your existing departmental file shares will be migrated to the new infrastructure shortly after we conclude the User Folder Migration phase of the project. Your departmental shares are not being deleted, they're being moved to a different system.
Additional information is available in the page content above, or in the FAQ content above the User Folder Migration section.
What will happen if a file is un-successfully migrated to my OneDrive?
There may be cases where files are unable to be synced to OneDrive due to file name length, illegal characters in the filenames, or other issues. Additionally, any individual files that are larger than 15 GB will have to be manually uploaded to OneDrive and will not be able to be migrated by Drexel IT.
When your migration is completed, Drexel IT will take note of any errors that came up in your migration. Either Drexel IT or your local IT Support will then contact you directly to work with you to handle the migration of those files on a manual & case-by-case basis. All migrations taking place are reviewed thoroughly to ensure completeness.
Per Microsoft's documentation, these are currently the Illegal Characters that will not sync:
" * : < > ? / \ |
Additionally, we have seen files and folders that have a space at the beginning of their names will not migrate. If Drexel IT notices these, the space will be replaced by an underscore ( _ ) so that the files successfully migrate without error.
If any of your files have these characters, we recommend renaming them as soon as possible so your migration goes smoothly. We've seen this sometimes occur if you download a web page directly for archival purposes.
I can't access my User Folder anymore and there is data I need in there... what should I do?
First, do not panic. Your data has not been removed - your access removal is temporary while the migration is taking place.
If you're attempting to access your User Folder Data during the migration day, take note of the following:
- On your Migration Day, your access to your user folder on the File Server will be removed around 7:00 AM, when the migrations begin.
- Migrations are done in batches of about 30-50 users at a time, with about 3-4 running concurrently - this is a limitation of the Microsoft service that we are using.
- Most data will be available to users on their OneDrives by mid-day, others may have to wait a little longer depending on how much data is to be migrated on a given day.
If you've found that data is missing from your OneDrive after the migration process has completed, we recommend doing the following:
- Check the OneDrive Web Client - if you have the OneDrive Sync Tool installed on your local computer, it's possible you may have configured it to not sync new folders.
- If the folder/data is still not present, contact the Help Desk. Make note of the day that your User Folder was scheduled to be migrated, and if possible, please include the path to where your User Folder was located (see the blue box on the right side for information on how to capture that information). Also, include any information about the file(s) in question that are not in your view.
- As previously mentioned, Drexel IT or your Local IT Support will reach out to you if there are any file(s) in your User Folder that did not migrate. If that is the case, you will be given Read-Only access to your old user folder for 72 hours to retrieve the data that was not migrated.
I have an Outlook Archive File (.PST) saved to my User Folder. What should I do?
What happens to the User Folders of Individuals no longer at the University?
User folders of individuals who are no longer at the University will be migrated to a separate File Share location, sorted by department. Department Heads will then be contacted by the Drexel IT Accounts Office to provide access and review data in the shares. These shares will be available until the end of the calendar year at which time they will be permanently deleted.