For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

1st Annual Student Research Symposium

May 15, 2014

The Chemistry Department has initiated an annual event giving our students an opportunity to present their research.  At this event the department announced the recipient of the 1st Annual Research Achievement Award, presented to an outstanding graduate student.

The inaugural winner of the Graduate Research Achievement Award was presented to Ms. Siobhan Toal on May 15th, 2014. Ms. Toal is a PhD candidate under the direction of Prof. Reinhard Schweitzer-Stenner. As the recipient of this award, Ms. Toal gave a seminar on her research titled “The Role of Enthalpy-Entropy Compensation and Solvation in Governing Conformational Propensities in Unfolded and Disordered States of Proteins” which described the work for which the award was presented.

Mr. Dayne Swearer was selected to represent undergraduate researchers in addition he is the recipient of the American Institute of Chemists Award. Mr. Swearer is a BS-MS student under the direction of Prof. Haifeng Ji. As the recipient of this honor, Mr. Swearer gave a seminar on his research titled “Self-Assembling Organic Systems for Optoelectronic and Sensing Applications” which described the work he has done as an undergraduate researcher.


Chemistry Research Awards