For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Drexel University Physics Students Win National Recognition

December 06, 2013

The Drexel University chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Office. This is the fifth time the chapter has been recognized for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physics club, a designation given to fewer than 10 percent of all SPS chapters at universities in the United States.

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association designed for students and membership is open to anyone interested in physics. SPS operates within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies.

The 2013 student officers leading the SPS chapter at Drexel University are:

Jeremy Gaison, '15, President,
Sam Ciocys, '14, VP,
Robyn Smith, '15, Advisor,
Will Giang, '15, Treasurer,
Matt Parsons, '15, Secretary,
Cameron Peterson, '16, Director of Outreach,

and is advised by Associate Professor Luis R. Cruz Cruz.

SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to "help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community."