For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Faculty Honored with Awards

September 7, 2021

In recent months, some CNHP faculty have been recognized for their research, commitment to social justice, leadership and diversity, equity and inclusion.

Ebony White, PhD, LPC, NCC, ACSEbony White, PhD, assistant clinical professor in Counseling and Family Therapy, was awarded the Dr. Judy Lewis Counselors for Social Justice Award from the American Counseling Association. The Dr. Judy Lewis Counselors for Social Justice Award recognizes a person (or persons) who has (have) engaged in social justice and advocacy aimed at making the lives of others and/or communities better through empowerment, community organizing and/or systems change through active engagement. This is a national award and speaks to White's historic and ongoing service in support of systemic change for underserved, marginalized and oppressed persons.

The National Diversity Council is an organization dedicated to being both a resource and an advocate for the value of diversity and inclusion. They have recognized two CNHP faculty members as Top 50 Healthcare Professionals for being medical professionals who are changemakers in the area of diversity and inclusion.

Roberta Waite, EdDRoberta Waite, professor, associate dean for Community-Centered Health & Wellness and Academic Integration and executive director of the Stephen & Sandra Sheller 11th St. Family Health Services, received the Leadership Excellence in Leadership Award.



Fran Cornelius, PhD, MSN, RN-BC, CNE 

Fran Cornelius, PhD, assistant dean of Teaching, Learning and Engagement and Clinical and professor, received the Leadership Excellence in Technology Award 2021.



Patti ZuzeloThe Pennsylvania Diversity Council, part of the National organization, honored Patti Zuzelo, EdD, a clinical professor in the Department Graduate Nursing, with the 2021 Pennsylvania LGBTQ+ Ally Award during its June 2, 2021 virtual Summit. The theme of this year's Pennsylvania LGBYQ+ Unity Summit was the "Intersections of Allyship."

These individuals possess the highest commitment to growth and the advancement of an inclusive community. This award honors leaders who are advancing healthcare in meaningful and moving ways within society at-large. 

Veronica CareyVeronica Carey, PhD, assistant dean of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, associate clinical professor Counseling and Family Therapy Department and chair of the Board of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, was awarded the Dr. Ewaugh F. Fields Legacy Award 2021 at the Drexel University Black Alumni Council (DUBAC) Virtual Alumni Weekend Mixer. Dr. Fields was the first African-American woman dean at Drexel University.


Loretta JemmotteLoretta Sweet Jemmott, PhD, vice president, Health and Health Equity and professor in Graduate Nursing was unanimously selected to receive the Lazarex Cancer Foundation Disruptor Award. The Lazarex Cancer Foundation Disruptor Award is presented to individuals who have responded with urgency, taking action to combat low minority participation in cancer clinical trials. These individuals are disrupting the current status quo by raising awareness about existing problems, putting patients interests first and demonstrating a commitment to working on solutions. "I can’t even begin to think of another person who is more deserving of this award than you," said Dana Dornsife, founder and CEO of the foundation.