For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Special Acknowledgements

June 25, 2015

  • Al Rundio, PhD, associate dean for Post Licensure Nursing Programs has been elected to fellowship in the American Academy of Nursing. He will be inducted at the annual Academy meeting in fall 2015. Rundio has also been unanimously elected to a three-year term as a Trustee of the Inspira Medical Center Woodbury Hospital Board, effective immediately.


  • Girija Kaimal, PhD, an assistant professor in the Creative Arts Therapies Department, is the 2015 recipient of the American Art Therapy Research Award, the largest cash prize awarded by the American Art Therapy Association. This award, which is aimed at encouraging research among professional art therapists, is for Dr. Kaimal’s research on health outcomes of visual self-expression, done in collaboration with Juan Muniz, PhD and Stella Volpe, PhD of the Department of Nutrition.

  • The Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences Department proudly introduces two new Orthopedic Physical Therapy Residents, Rachelle Green and Casey Sullivan.  Both residents started working for Drexel Physical Therapy Services on June 1 and will be treating patients in at the Recreation Center, Parkway Health & Wellness and the Stephen and Sandra Sheller 11th Street Family Health Services.

  • David Ebaugh, PhD, clinical professor in the Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences Department and Noel Goodstadt, PT, associate clinical professor in the Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences Department, received the Faculty Recognition Award from the School of Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health Systems at the Commencement and Honors Celebration on June 10.  Ebaugh and Goodstadt were recognized for many years of dedicated and inspiring teaching in a hands-on laboratory environment, and for the highest course and instructor ratings within the School. 

  • Margo N. Orlin, PhD, associate professor in the Department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences (and alumnus) has received the American Physical Therapy Association’s Catherine Worthingham Fellow Award. Orlin is known within and outside the profession as an exceptional practitioner, advocate, academician, and researcher. The Catherine Worthingham Fellow designation—FAPTA—honors individuals whose contributions to the profession through leadership, influence, and achievements constitute frequent and sustained efforts to advance the physical therapy profession.


  • Nyree Dardarian, MS, was awarded the Outstanding Dietetic Educator Award for the Pennsylvania Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Dardarian was also chosen as one of Today’s Dietitian Magazine as one of the “10 Incredible Registered Dietitians Who are Making a Difference”.