For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

10th Annual Behavioral Health Counseling Alumni Dinner

June 30, 2012

Behavior Health Dinner

On June 20, the Behavioral Health Counseling department held its 10th Annual Alumni Dinner. Music by guest flutist Lisamarie McGrath welcomed alumni into the room as they reunited with their classmates and professors. Before the dinner began, Ron Comer, DSW, emphasized that the department’s students learn about cognitive behavior, group counseling, and assessment treatment planning which give them the ability to "hit the ground running" as soon as they graduate.

Mildred Zenon, who graduated from the Saturday Scholars Program in 2006, shared her experience: "The best part was how supportive we were of each other. No one was left behind, we were like a family." Zenon also offered advice to future students of the program saying, "Do not fear to follow your dreams." One alumni, Craig Heiler '00 shared a lesson he learned from his professors that has stuck with him since graduation, "We're all human beings. Treat the human being first and the addiction second."

Veronica Carey, PhD, Assistant Clinical Professor and Associate Director of the Saturday Scholars Program, let the alumni do most of the talking, asking attendees to share what skills they learned that they have used in their careers, as well as introduced them to some new features of the program. The keynote speaker of the evening was Fred Barber '04, who received an Outstanding Alumni Award plaque. Barber used his time to tell the alumni of some of the people he has met that have overcome their own personal struggles, ending his speech with a quote we have all heard: "If you love what you do, you never have to work a day in your life," This was a belief that many of the hardworking people in the room equally live and work by.

Congratulations to the new graduates: Dorine Beasley, Felecia Crute, Jasmine Doshi, Tanya Gaines, Sherrell Hairston, Michelle Horton, Jennifer Kordell, Kelly LeMasney, Kyla Neil, Sarah Rice, Paula Werner, Michael Wightman and Stevens Williams.