For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Robert LaPointe, MSN, RN, CNL, CCRN

Contact Information

Robert J. LaPointe


Assistant Clinical Professor

Graduate Nursing
Advanced Role MSN Department

Bob LaPointe, MSN, is an assistant clinical professor in the College of Nursing and Health Professions at Drexel University. He is a graduate of Seton Hall University College of Nursing’s inaugural Clinical Nurse Leader MSN cohort. In addition to his faculty position, he works at Corporal J. Crescenz VA Medical Center (CMCVAMC) in Philadelphia, where, after a period as the interim director of quality management, he continues practicing as a CNL in medical telemetry. He is cofounder at CMCVAMC of Nursing Shared Governance and is now cofacilitator of the medical center’s relationship-based care implementation. For the Veterans Affairs Office of Electronic Health Records Modernization, LaPointe serves on the Acute Care Delivery Council as cochair of the med/surg workgroup and has worked on national telemetry and patient safety task forces. He has spoken and presented at a number of regional and national conferences, seminars and forums.

Prior to becoming a nurse, LaPointe was senior director of Quality, Research and Evaluation for the Woodbourne Center in Baltimore. He earned a BA and MS in Psychology from Loyola University in Maryland.

Academic Distinctions

  • CNL Vanguard Award - American Association of Colleges of Nursing and the Commission on Nurse Certification
  • Medical ICU "MVP" Nursing Leadership Recognition - Penn Presbyterian Medical Center
  • Award for General Excellence - Seton Hall College of Nursing, Graduate Division
  • Chapter Award - Sigma Theta Tau International, Gamma Nu Chapter

Professional Society

Clinical Nurse Leader Association (former president-elect, 2011-2013; president, 2013-2015)
Sigma Theta Tau International
American Association of Critical Care Nurses

Selected Publications

Bender, M., Baker, P., Harris, J. L., Hites, L., LaPointe, R. J., Murphy, E. A., Roussel, L., Spiva, L., Stanley, J. M., Thomas, P. L., & Williams, M. (2019). Advancing the Clinical Nurse Leader model through academic-practice-policy partnership. Nursing Outlook, 67(4), 345-353.

LaPointe, R. J. (2019). Professional portfolios for Clinical Nurse Leaders. In D. Swihart & S. Figueroa (Eds.), Building your professional portfolio: Essential tools for healthcare providers. HCPro.

Research Interests

Implementation Science, Complexity Science, Clinical Nurse Leader scholarship


Clinical nurse leader, critical care, quality management

MSN, CNL – Seton Hall University

MS, Psychology – Loyola University, Maryland