CCI Students Recognized at 2017 Honors & Awards Ceremony

Award recipients
Drexel University College of Computing & Informatics (CCI) hosted the 2017 Honors and Awards Ceremony and Luncheon on June 1 at Nesbitt Hall to celebrate and recognize undergraduate and graduate students for their exceptional academic achievements during the 2016-17 academic year. 

The scholarships and awards were divided into three categories: undergraduate awards, graduate awards, and doctoral awards. Information Science Department Head and Professor Ellen Bass, PhD, and Computer Science Department Head and Professor Dario Salvucci, PhD presented the scholarships and awards. 

Twenty undergraduate students, twenty graduate students – including five doctoral students – received accolades at the ceremony. 

The College recognizes that without the sustained, generous support of our donors, these scholarships and awards would not be possible; the College is deeply grateful for their ongoing commitment to academic excellence and student success at CCI. 

The following students were recognized:


A* Award 

Thomas Amon, BSCS

Maple Founders Award 
Andrew DiNunzio, BSCS
Donor: Maplesoft

James B. Maginnis Award 
Austin Herring, BSCS

Distinguished Service Award 
Alex Marion, BSCS

Outstanding TA Award 
Kyle Abramowitz, BSCS

Outstanding Research Awards 

Samantha Bewley, BSCS
Rachel Goeken, BSCS

Outstanding Leadership Award 
Daniel Ziegler, BSCS

High-Performance Computing Award 
Nathan Bender, BSSE

The Walter Straub ‘65 ‘70 HD ‘12 Dream it. Do it. Scholarship 

David Kassie, BSCS
Donor: Walter Straub (‘65, ‘70, HD ‘12)

Bridget Blake and M. Brian Blake, Ph.D. Endowed Scholarship Fund 

Miles Mixon, BSCS
Donors: Bridget Blake and M. Brian Blake, PhD

Tamman Tech Scholarship Fund 
Jake Carfagno, BSCS
Donor: Tamman Technologies Inc.

Grace Palmer Burrell Scholarship 
Samara Painter, BSCS

Mary Ellen Blackwell Endowed Scholarship Fund 
Blessing Adogame, BSSE

Nancy White Memorial Endowed Scholarship Fund
Stanley Yu, BSIT

David & Joanne Witiak Endowed Scholarship

Nina Huenke, BSIT & Hassan Sheik, BSSE
Donors: David & Joanne Witiak

The Janet Chapman Muscarella Endowed Scholarship
Raj Patel, BSDS

The David ’68 and Fran Heffner Endowed Scholarship

Alexis Schleeter, BSIS
Donors: David & Frances Heffner

Edmund Kofi Arthur Memorial Scholarship
Hong Son, BSSE
Donor: Jude Kofi Arthur, father of the late Edmund Kofi Arthur, who was a BS in information technology student


The Harriet D. MacPherson Fund
Vincent Miller, BSCST

The Marie Hamilton Law Endowed Scholarship 

April James, MSLIS

The Evelyn W. Armstrong Endowed Scholarship 
Paula Burke, MSLIS

The Doris Zimmerman Endowed Fellowship Fund 
Jeremy Keim-Shenk, MSIS
Donors: Carla Mariani & Thomas Mariani, in memory of Doris Zimmerman.

The Doris Keller Hosler Endowed Fellowship
Vilmarie Torres, MSLIS
Donor: Doris Keller Hosler

The Ione A. Nelson Endowed Scholarship 
Amber Anglada, Norah Burns, Megan Donnelly, Jennifer Scott and Kiera Vargas (all MSLIS)

Bettina H. Shears Scholarship

Alexandra Wilder, MSLIS
Donor: Lawrence Shears, in memory of Bettina H. Shears

The Harriet S. and Samuel K. Nash Endowed Scholarship Fund 
April Hegner, MSLIS
Donors: Harriet S. and Samuel K. Nash

Jacqueline Mancall Scholarship
Kendra Fitzpatrick, MSLIS

Tung-Li & Hui-His Yuan Prize

Hongwei Liu, MSIS


Phoebe W. Haas Endowed Fellowship for Women Doctoral Students 
Houda El mimouni, doctoral student, Information Studies
Donor: Haas Charitable Trust

Belver C. Griffith Memorial Endowed Fund

Yuanyuan Feng, doctoral student, Information Studies

Outstanding TA Award 
Ehsan Khosroshahi, doctoral student, Computer Science

Outstanding Research Award
Gavin Harrison, doctoral student, Computer Science

Jay Modi Memorial Award 
Alberto Uriarte, doctoral student, Computer Science

Related News

Contact Us

Have a question? We’re eager to talk with you.

Contact Us