Chathumini Abeyratna

Chathumini Abeyratna

Contact Chathumini

Major: BS Computer Science (Minors: Management Information Systems and Finance; CS Tracks: Human-Computer Interaction and Artificial Intelligence)

Year: Junior

Hometown: Born in Sri Lanka; raised and grew up in Lodi, New Jersey

I chose this major because... I've always been interested in solving problems/puzzles, math and technology. I can't lie, Computer Science is the hardest subject that I have ever studied in my whole entire life. But that's exactly why I chose the major. It's a challenge, and through that challenge, I'm happy to say that I have found a passion for it. Also, getting your own code to run perfectly is one of the best feelings in the world!

Favorite Course(s): CS275 Web and Mobile App Development- I loved this course because it taught us a lot about Web Application and development. For the final project, my team and I created an application called Lyrical, which is a music game, and I really enjoyed letting people play the game and seeing their reactions. It was a great feeling to see people get enjoyment out of something that I created.

CS260 Data Structures and Algorithms - This course was incredibly difficult and broke me apart, but I stayed focused and put in extra effort to learn the subject and I built myself back up. I believe this course helped me to become a stronger person educationally and I proved to myself that I can do it. If you can pass CS260, you can pass anything!!

Clubs/Extracurricular Activities: Alpha Omega Epsilon (STEM sorority), Women in Computing Society (WiCS), Society of Women in Engineering (SWE), Recreational co-ed Squash and Volleyball.

Co-ops I've done:

  • LMDW IT Leader/IT Supply Chain Co-op, Johnson & Johnson, Fort Washington, PA
    • At this co-op I was exposed to the supply chain and one of the exciting things I did was create AutoCAD diagrams of the plant machines in which the products were created in. I also was in charge of creating an incident dashboard that kept track of our tickets and I ran the meetings, which had attendees from all around North America.

Favorite thing/place at Drexel: The library. I work there at the front desk and I really enjoy my job, but I also go there to study. I can stay there for hours and hours and before I know it, it's 1 AM!

When I'm not at Drexel, I'm... at home in Northern New Jersey with my family. I love to sew clothes and make designs - my main passion is fashion. I like to spend my free time sketching and painting. Netflix can sometimes be my weakness (The Office and White Collar are my favorite shows).

When you are in Philadelphia, I think you should... visit Spruce Street Harbor Park. This place is so beautiful!! There are lights everywhere and hammocks that you can lay in. It's a great place to go with friends!

Advice to new/incoming CCI students: Take advantage of your time here! Drexel offers so many opportunities for you to get involved, like clubs, sports, activities, etc. All you have to do is put in the effort!!

What is your dream job? Software Developer or Software Engineer at a high-tech company.

Favorite Animated Character: Spongebob Squarepants- I grew up watching this guy.

Bio

I am currently a fourth year in Computer Science pursuing two tracks (Artificial Intelligence & Human Computer Interaction) and two minors (Management Information Systems & Finance). I was born in a tropical island called Sri Lanka and came to America when I was 3 years old. I chose Drexel because I fell in love with the campus, city life and endless opportunities. I'm currently trying to figure out how to involve technology, business and design into my future job.