Drexel University’s policy regarding alcohol is consistent with the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. The consumption, distribution, or service of alcoholic beverages must be in compliance with the Pennsylvania liquor and crime codes, which define the lawful consumption and service of alcohol and prescribe sanctions for violations.
The consumption, distribution, or service of alcoholic beverages must also comply with University regulations and policies.
Violations of the University alcohol policy include, but are not limited to:
- Possession, use, or distribution of alcohol by underage persons.
- Disruptive conduct due all or in part to being under the influence of alcohol.
- Providing alcohol to underage persons or providing a space for the consumption of alcohol by underage persons.
- Possession of an open alcohol container in a public area regardless of the individual’s age.
- Possession or use of bulk containers on campus including, but not limited to, kegs, beer balls, or any other object that would promote binge drinking.
The University expects that all of its students, whether on or off campus, will abide by the University’s regulations concerning alcohol and other drug use. When a student engages in conduct off-campus that violates the University’s regulations concerning alcohol and drug use and such violation results in behavior which, in the University’s sole judgment, is destructive, abusive, or detrimental to the University’s interests, the University’s conduct process shall apply and such matters will be processed accordingly.
See also Residence Hall and 34th Street Housing policies on alcohol consumption and possession located in the Residential Living Office and 34th Street Housing sections of the Student Handbook.
Sanction Guidelines for Violating the Alcohol Policy
The University considers the sanctions listed below to be guidelines when adjudicating alcohol violations. Each incident is reviewed on an individual basis. Depending on the specifics of the incident, more or less severe sanctions may be imposed.
First Violation: Alcohol education; $100.00 fine; Disciplinary probation for one year; Parental Notification.
Second Violation: Substance abuse referral; $200.00 fine; Deferred Loss of Housing and/or Deferred Suspension; Parental Notification; Extension of probation.
Third Violation: Suspension from the University and/or one or more of the following: Loss of Housing Privileges; Deferred Suspension from University; $200.00 fine; Parental Notification.