For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

About The UBSC

The USBC is composed of faculty investigators from Drexel University and the Drexel University College of Medicine who have a wide range of scientific expertise. The Committee also includes two members from agencies and institutions in the local community, the University Biosafety Officer, and a Recombinant DNA Officer. The functions and membership of Institutional Biosafety Committees are specified in Section IV-B-2 [Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)] of the NIH Guidelines maintained by the Office of Biotechnology Activities.

The UBSC normally meets on the last Tuesday of each month. The meeting calendar and deadlines for protocol submission and revision are available on the Meeting Deadlines and Calendar page.

The UBSC operates in accordance with practices outlined in University Biosafety Committee (UBSC) Policies and Procedures.

The current co-chairs of the UBSC are:

Fred Krebs, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Drexel University College of Medicine

Arthur Frank, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Environmental & Occupational Health
Drexel University School of Public Health

Questions and queries about the UBSC may be directed to:

Christina Canamucio, Administrative Coordinator
Phone: 215-255-7870