For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Religious Observances Calendar

  • Issuing Office: Office of the Provost
  • Updated: 07/06/17

Policy Statement

Embodying a culturally and spiritually diverse community, Drexel University recognizes that on the occasion of important or solemn religious days, certain of its members will observe practices that preclude them from attending to their regular duties whether as faculty members or students. On the occasion of such days, it is important for all who do not share in these same practices to accommodate their colleagues and peers.

Religious Holidays Comprehensive Calendar

HOLIDAY DAYS YEAR RELIGION
Mary, Mother of God January 1, Sunday 2017 Catholic Christian
Feast Day of St Basil January 1, Sunday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Gantan-sai (New Years) January 1, Sunday 2017 Shinto
Holy Name of Jesus January 1, Sunday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Twelfth Night January 5, Thursday 2017 Christian
Guru Gobindh Singh birthday January 5, Thursday 2017 Sikh
Epiphany January 6, Friday 2017 Christian
Feast of the Epiphany (Theophany) January 6, Friday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Dia de los Reyes (Three Kings Day) January 6, Friday 2017  Christian
Nativity of Christ January 6, Friday 2017 Armenian Orthodox Christian
Feast of the Nativity January 7, Saturday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Baptism of the Lord Jesus January 8, Sunday 2017 Christian
Mahayana New Year  Thursday January 12 - Sunday January 15 2017 Buddhist
Maghi January 13, Friday 2017 Sikh
World Religion Day January 15, Sunday 2017 Baha'i
Blessing of the Animals January 17, Tuesday 2017 Hispanic Catholic Christian
Week of Prayer for Christian Unity January 19, Thursday 2017  Christian
Triodion begins Thursday January 19 - Wednesday January 25 2017 Orthodox Christian
Timkat January 19, Thursday 2017 Ethiopian Orthodox Christian
Conversion of St. Paul January 25, Wednesday 2017 Christian
Chinese New Year January 28, Saturday 2017 Confucian, Daoist, Buddhist
Vasant Panchami  February 1,  Wednesday 2017 Hindu
Candlemas - Presentation of Christ in the Temple February 2,  Thursday 2017 Christian
Imbolc - Lughnassah  February 2,  Thursday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
Presentation of Christ in the Temple  February 2,  Thursday 2017  Anglican Christian
Saint Brighid of Kildare February 2,  Thursday 2017 Celtic Christian
St. Blaze Day February 3, Friday 2017 Christian
Setsebun sai (beginning of spring) February 3, Friday 2017 Shinto
Four Chaplains Sunday February 5, Sunday 2017 Interfaith
Tu BiShvat  February 11, Saturday 2017 Judaism
Triodion  February 12, Sunday 2017 Orthodox Christian
St. Valentine's Day February 14, Tuesday 2017 Christian
Nirvana Day  February 15, Wednesday 2017 Buddhist - Jain - Sikh
Meatfare Sunday February 19, Sunday 2017  Orthodox Christian
Maha Shavaratri  February 25, Saturday 2017 Hindu
Cheese Fare Sunday February 26, Sunday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Transfiguration Sunday February 26, Sunday 2017 Christian
Intercalary Sunday February 26 - Wednesday  March 1 2017 Baha'i
Shrove Tuesday February 28, Tuesday 2017 Christian
St. David of Wales March 1, Wednesday 2017 Christian
Ash Wednesday March 1, Wednesday 2017 Christian
Nineteen Day Fast  Thursday March 2 - Monday March 20 2017 Baha'i
Orthodox Sunday March 5, Sunday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Purim  March 12, Sunday 2017  Judaism
Magha Puja Day  March 12, Sunday 2017 Buddhist
Holi  March 13, Monday 2017  Hindu
Hola Mohalla  March 13, Monday 2017  Sikh
St. Patrick's Day March 17, Friday 2017  Christian
St. Joseph's Day March 19, Sunday 2017 Christian
Equinox-Ostara March 20, Monday 2017  Wicca/Pagan
 Equinox-Mabon  March 20, Monday 2017  Wicca/Pagan
Norooz (New Year)  March 21, Tuesday 2017 Persian/Zoroastrian
Naw-Rúz (New Year)  March 21, Tuesday 2017  Baha'i
Annunciation of the Virgin Mary March 25, Saturday 2017 Christian
Great Lent begins - Clean Monday March 27, Monday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Hindu New Year   March 28, Tuesday 2017 Hindu
Ramayana  Tuesday March 28  - Wednesday April 5 2017 Hindu
Khordad Sal (Birth of Prophet Zaranthushtra)  March 28, Tuesday 2017  Zoroastrian
Lazarus Saturday April 1, Saturday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Palm Sunday April 2, Sunday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Ramanavami  April 5, Wednesday 2017 Hindu
Palm Sunday April 9, Sunday 2017 Christian
Mahavir Jayanti  April 10, Monday 2017 Jain
Lord's Evening Meal  April 11, Tuesday 2017 Jehovah's Witness Christian
Hanuman Jayanti April 11, Tuesday 2017 Hindu
Baisakhi (Vaisakhi) April 14, Friday 2017 Sikh
Good Friday April 14, Friday 2017 Christian
Theravadin Mew Year  Tuesday April 11 - Friday April 14 2017 Buddhist
Pesach (Passover)  Tuesday April 11 - Tuesday April 18 2017 Judaism
Holy Friday April 14, Friday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Easter  April 16, Sunday 2017 Christian
Pascha (Easter) April 16, Sunday 2017 Orthodox Christian
First Day of Ridvan  April 21, Friday 2017 Baha'i
St. George's Day  April 23, Sunday 2017 Christian
Yom HaShoah   April 23, Sunday 2017 Judaism
Lailat al Miraj  April 24, Monnday 2017  Islam
Ninth Day of Ridvan  April 29, Saturday 2017 Baha'i
St. James the Great Day April 30, Sunday 2017  Orthodox Christian
Beltane - Samhain  May 1, Monday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
Yom Ha'Atzmaut May 1, Monday 2017 Judaism
Twelfth Day of Ridvan   May 2, Tuesday 2017 Baha'i
Saints Philip & James May 3, Wednesday 2017  Christian
National Day of Prayer - USA May 4, Thursday 2017 Interfaith
Visakha Puja May 10, Wednesday 2017 Buddhist
Lailat al Bara'ah  May 12, Friday 2017 Islam
Lag B/Omer  May 14, Sunday 2017 Judaism
Declaration of the Bab  May 23, Tuesday 2017 Baha'i
Ramadan begins   May 27, Saturday 2017 Islam
Ascension of Baha'u'llah  May 29, Monday 2017 Baha'i
Shavout  Wednesday May 31 - Thursday June 1 2017 Judaism
Ascension of Jesus May 25, Thursday 2017 All Christians
Pentecost June 4, Sunday 2017 All Christians
St. Columba of Iona June 9, Friday 2017 Celtic Christian
Trinity Sunday June 11, Sunday 2017 Christian
Corpus Christi  June 15, Thursday 2017 Catholic Christian
Saint Vladimir June 15, Thursday 2017 Christian
Guru Arjan martyrdom June 16, Friday 2017 Sikh
New Church Day June 19, Monday 2017 Swedenborgian Christian
First Nations Day June 21, Wednesday 2017  Canadian Native People
Litha  June 21, Wednesday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
Yule  June 21, Wednesday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
Laylat al Kadr  June 22, Thursday 2017 Islam
Sacred Heart of Jesus June 23, Friday 2017 Catholic Christian
Eid al Fitr  Monday June 26 - Wednesday June 29 2017  Islam
Feast Day of Saints Peter and Paul  June 29, Thursday 2017 Christian
Martyrdom of the Bab  July 9, Sunday 2017 Baha'i
Asalha Puja Day July 9, Sunday 2017 Buddhist
St Benedict Day July 11, Tuesday 2017 Catholic Christian
All Saints July 11, Tuesday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Ulambana - Obon  July 13, Thursday 2017 Buddhist
Obon    July 13, Thursday 2017 Shinto  
St. Vladimir the Great Day July 15, Saturday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Pioneer Day July 24, Monday 2017 Mormon Christian 
St. James the Great Day July 25, Tuesday 2017  Christian
Lammas August 1, Tuesday 2017  Christian
Lughnassad - Imbolc  August 1, Tuesday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
Tish'a B'av  August 1, Tuesday 2017 Judaism
Fast in Honor of Holy Mother of Jesus August 1, Tuesday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Transfiguration of the Lord  August 6, Sunday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Raksha Bandhan  August 7, Monday 2017  Hindu
Assumption of Blessed Virgin Mary August 15, Tuesday 2017 Catholic Christian
Dormition of the Theotokos August 15, Tuesday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Krishna Janmashtami August 15, Tuesday 2017  Hindu
Paryushana Parva  Saturday August 26 - Monday September 4 2017 Jain
Beheading of St. John the Baptist August 29, Tuesday 2017 Christian
Waqf al Arafa - Hajj Day  August 31, Thursday 2017 Islam
Religious year begins September 1, Friday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Eid al Adha   September 1, Friday 2017 Islam
Nativity of Virgin Mary September 8, Friday 2017 Christian
Elevation of the Life Giving Cross (Holy Cross) September 14, Thursday 2017 Christian
Rosh Hashanah  Thursday September 21 - Friday September 22 2017 Judaism
New Year - Hijra  Thursday September 21 - Friday September 23 2017  Islam
Navaratri  Thursday September 21 - Friday September 29 2017 Hindu
Mabon   September 22, Friday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
Ostata  September 22, Friday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
Ganesh Chaturthi  September 25, Monday 2017 Hindu
Meskel September 27, Wednesday 2017 Ethiopian Christian
Michael and All Angels September 29, Friday 2017 Christian
Yom Kippur  September 30, Saturday 2017 Judaism
Dasara September 30, Saturday 2017 Hindu
Ashura  October 1, Sunday 2017 Islam
St Francis Day October 4, Wednesday 2017 Catholic Christian
Blessing of the Animals  October 4, Wednesday 2017 Christian
Sukkot  Thursday October 5 - Wednesday October 11 2017 Judaism
Thanksgiving - Canada October 9, Monday 2017  Interfaith
Shemini Atzeret  October 13, Friday 2017 Judaism
Simchat Torah  October 13, Friday 2017 Judaism
St. Luke, Apostle & Evangelist October 12, Thursday 2017 Christian
Diwali - Deepavali  October 12, Thursday 2017 Hindu - Sikh - Jain
Birth of the Báb  October 20, Friday 2017 Baha'i
Installation of Scriptures as Guru Granth October 20, Friday 2017 Sikh
Jain New Year October 20, Friday 2017 Jain
Milvian Bridge Day October 28, Saturday 2017  Christian
Reformation Day  October 29, Sunday 2017 Protestant Christian
All Hallows Eve October 31, Tuesday 2017 Christian
Reformation Day  October 31, Tuesday 2017 Protestant Christian
All Saints Day November 1, Wednesday 2017 Christian
Samhain - Beltane  November 1, Wednesday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
All Souls Day  November 2, Thursday 2017 Catholic Christian
Birthday of Guru Nanak Dev Sahib November 4, Saturday 2017 Sikh
Birth of Baha'u'llah  November 12, Sunday 2017  Baha'i
Nativity Fast begins - ends Dec. 24 November 15, Wednesday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Thanksgiving November 23, Thursday 2017  Interfaith USA
Martyrdom of Guru Tegh Bahdur November 24, Friday 2017 Sikh
Christ the King November 26, Sunday 2017 Christian
Day of the Covenant  November 26, Sunday 2017 Baha'i
Ascension of  'Abdu'l-Baha  November 28, Tuesday 2017 Baha'i
St. Andrew's Day November 30, Thursday 2017 Christian
Mawlid an Nabi  December 1, Friday 2017 Islam
Advent     December 3, Sunday 2017 Christian
Saint Nicholas Day December 6, Wednesday 2017 Christian
Bodhi Day  (Rohatsu)  December 8, Friday 2017 Buddhist
Immaculate Conception of Mary December 8, Friday 2017 Catholic Christian
Feast day - Our Lady of Guadalupe December 12, Tuesday 2017 Catholic Christian
Hanukkah  Wednesday December 13- Wednesday December 20 2017 Judaism
Posadas Navidenas Saturday December 16 - Monday December 25 2017 Hispanic Christian
Yule  December 21, Thursday 2017 Christian
Yule  December 21, Thursday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
Litha  December 21, Thursday 2017 Wicca/Pagan
Christmas Eve December 24, Sunday 2017 Christian
Christmas  December 25, Monday 2017 Christian
Feast of the Nativity   December 25, Monday 2017 Orthodox Christian
Zarathosht Diso (Death of Prophet Zarathushtra)  December 26, Tuesday 2017 Zoroastrian
St Stephen's Day December 26, Tuesday 2017 Christian
Holy Innocents December 28, Thursday 2017 Christian
Watch Night December 31, Sunday 2017 Christian
Holy Family December 31, Sunday 2017 Catholic Christian