History and Heritage of Mechanical Engineering
By the late 19th century, Drexel University, then the Drexel Institute, offered courses in machine construction and mechanical drawing. These courses presaged the development of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. In 1902, Mechanical Engineering was part of the Department of Science and Technology, which was later named the School of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering. In 1907, the Departments of Mechanical, Electrical and Civil Engineering became the School of Engineering.
At the time this photograph was taken of the members of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (1921), "The Engineering School was well embarked upon its cooperative plan, with good prospects for the future. The faculty was composed of young men with sound experience in engineering education, all in close touch with the latest developments in the engineering field." (As described by Edward D. McDonald and Edward M. Hinton in Drexel Institute of Technology 1891-1941, p. 177). ASME offers more information on the history and heritage of Mechanical Engineering.
Learn more about the history of Mechanical Engineering by visiting these local ASME designated historic sites:
Fairmount Water Works, Fairmount Park
U.S.S. Olympia, Penns Landing
Brandywine River Powder Mills