For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

The Gao Lab Members


Current Members

 
Wen-Jun Gao, PhD

Wen-Jun Gao, MD, PhD

Position: Principal Investigator
Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy
Drexel University College of Medicine
  215.991.8907 (Office)
  215.991.8473 (Lab Room 255)
  215.991.8743 (Lab Room 278)
  215.991.9082 (Fax)
 wen-jun.gao@drexelmed.edu

Biography
Dr. Wen-Jun Gao received his PhD from Shanghai Brain Research Institute, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 1997. He did his first postdoctoral training with Dr. Sarah L. Pallas at Georgia State University from 1997-1999; then with Drs. Patricia S. Goldman-Rakic and David A. McCormick at Yale University School of Medicine from 1999 to 2005. He became an assistant professor in 2005 and is now a tenured professor (since 2015) in the Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy at Drexel University College of Medicine.


 
Yan-Chun Li, PhD

Yan-Chun Li, PhD

Position: Research Assistant Professor

 yanchun.li@drexelmed.edu

Research Interest: Dopamine signaling in the prefrontal cortex.


 
Bo Xing, PhD

Bo Xing, PhD

Position: Postdoctoral Fellow

 bo.xing@drexelmed.edu

Research Interest: Dopamine regulation of social behaviors and prefrontal function.


 
Linda Chamberlin

Linda Chamberlin

Position: MD/PhD Student

 lac366g@gmail.com

Project: TBD


 
Cassandra Alexandropoulos

Cassandra Alexandropoulos

Position: Graduate Student

 cassandra.alexandropoulos@gmail.com

Research Interest: TBD


 
Austin Coley

Austin Coley

Position: Graduate Student

 aac98@drexel.edu

Research Interest: Postnatal development of synaptic function in transgenic mouse prefrontal cortex.


 
Nancy Mack

Nancy Mack

Position: Graduate Student

 nancymack4@gmail.com

Research Interest: TBD


 Erin McEachern

Erin McEachern

Position: Graduate Student

 epmceachern@gmail.com

Project: TBD


 
Sarah Monaco

Sarah Monaco

Position: Graduate Student

 sarahmonaco381@gmail.com

Research Interest: Molecular and cellular mechanisms of GSK3b signaling in psychiatric disorders.


 
Shasha Yang

Shasha Yang

Position: Graduate Student

 yangshasha1990@126.com

Research Interest: Development of HCN channels in prefrontal cortical neurons.


 Yu-xiang Zhang

Yu-xiang Zhang

Position: Visiting Graduate Student

 1052908733@qq.com

Project: TBD.

 
 Back to Top


Former Lab Members

 
Dong Xi, PhD, MD

Dong Xi, PhD, MD

 dong.xi@drexelmed.edu


 
George G. Stradtman, III

George G. Stradtman, III

 george.stradtman@us.army.mil


 
Huaixing Wang, PhD

Huaixing Wang, PhD

 wanghuaixing2000@yahoo.com


 
Alicia E. Adelman

Alicia E. Adelman

 alicia.adelman@gmail.com


 
Kimberly Urban, PhD

Kimberly Urban, PhD

 will0w783@hotmail.com


 
Melissa A. Snyder, PhD

Melissa A. Snyder, PhD

 melbabyo@gmail.com


 
Min-Juan Wang, PhD

Min-Juan Wang, PhD

Position: Visiting Graduate Student
 minjuan024@163.com


 
Menglin (Merry) Li

Menglin (Merry) Li

Position: Visiting Graduate Student
 serlin313@hotmail.com


 Katelyn Reeb

Katelyn Reeb

Position: Graduate Student
 katelyn.l.reeb@drexel.edu


 

Elise Zhao

Position: Student
 elise.e.zhao@gmail.com


 

Rita Akumuo

Position: Graduate Student

 rca47@drexel.edu


 
Yelena Gulchina

Yelena Gulchina

Position: Graduate Student

 yelena.gulchina@drexel.edu


 Genie Han

Genie Han

Position: Graduate Student

 genie.han@drexel.edu


 
Brielle Ferguson

Brielle Ferguson

Position: Graduate Student

 brielle.ferguson91@gmail.com

 
 Back to Top


Others

Joy Hudson
Project and Teaching Coordinator
  215.991.8401
 joy.hudson@drexelmed.edu

Kathleen Golden
Assistant to the Chair, Administrative Coordinator
  215.991.8402
 kathy.golden@drexelmed.edu

Cecelia Wood
Department Administrator
  215.991.8497
 cecelia.wood@drexelmed.edu

Anna Maria Falco
Accountant
  215.991.8255
 annamaria.falco@drexelmed.edu

Barbara Engle
Teaching Coordinator

 
 Back to Top

Synaptic connections between pyramidal neurons and GABAergic interneurons. The neurons were labeled with bicytin during patch clamp recording and reconstructed with Neurolucida system.