For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Institute for Women's Health and Leadership Marion Spencer Fay Award

2017 Marion Spencer Fay Award Honoree and Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

The annual Marion Spencer Fay Award will be presented to Melissa Simon, MD, MPH, and a lifetime achievement award will be presented to Vivian Pinn, MD, by the Institute for Women’s Health and Leadership on Tuesday, November 14, 2017, at 4:30 p.m. at the Pyramid Club in Philadelphia (1735 Market Street).

Schedule of Events

4:30 p.m.
Marion Spencer Fay Award presentation, lecture by Dr. Simon:
Moving the Needle on Women's Health Equity
5:30 p.m.
Lifetime achievement award presentation to Dr. Pinn
6 – 7:30 p.m.

The national Marion Spencer Fay Award, now in its 54th year, is given annually to a woman physician or scientist who has made an exceptionally significant contribution to health care as a practitioner, medical educator, administrator or research scientist. The award includes a $10,000 honorarium. Read the press release for more information [PDF].

Melissa Simon, MD, MPH

About Melissa Simon, MD, MPH

Dr. Simon is an expert in implementation science, women’s health across the lifespan, minority health, community engagement and health equity. Her research impacts local-, state- and national-level thought and policy regarding inclusion and health equity, and is focused on improving vulnerable populations’ health and access to the health care system.

Learn more about Dr. Simon [PDF]

Vivian Pinn, MD

About Vivian Pinn, MD

Dr. Pinn is internationally renowned for transforming the understanding and treatment of women’s health, including sex/gender research and minority and women’s health disparities. She has long been a vocal advocate for women and minorities in biomedical science careers.

Learn more about Dr. Pinn [PDF]

Please contact Janine Barber at or 215.991.8194 for more information.

The Marion Spencer Fay Award

Marion Spencer Fay, PhD

The Marion Spencer Fay Award is a national award to honor achievement and excellence in medicine and science and is presented to a woman of distinction, innovation and leadership. Past Marion Spencer Fay Award honorees include Julie Overbaugh, PhD, of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle, and Nancy C. Andrews, MD, PhD, dean of Duke University's School of Medicine. Learn more about past honorees.

Marion Spencer Fay, PhD, was dean and president of Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania from 1946 to 1963. The National Board for Women in Medicine established an award in her name in 1963 to recognize her pioneering leadership.

This national award is given annually to a woman physician and/or scientist who has made an exceptionally significant contribution to health care as a practitioner, medical educator, administrator and/or research scientist and who exhibits significant future potential.

Formerly administered by the National Board for Women in Medicine, the award continues under the guidance of the Institute for Women's Health and Leadership of Drexel University College of Medicine, which maintains the traditions of the Woman's Medical College and the Medical College of Pennsylvania that reflect a 160-year legacy of excellence.

  • The award recipient is selected from nominations submitted to a special committee, appointed by the Institute, dedicated to the principles of the Marion Spencer Fay Award. 
  • The presentation ceremony is attended by distinguished academic, medical and scientific leaders and the award includes a $10,000 honorarium to support the recipient's work.

 Back to Top