For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Four Drexel Students Awarded Scholarships from the Philadelphia Section of the IFT

May 2, 2014

IFT GroupThe Philadelphia Section of the Institute of Food Technologists held their student appreciation night dinner on Tuesday, April 30 at Drexel University’s Academic Bistro.  During the event, the scholarship committee presented four Drexel graduate students in the Food Science program with awards. The students, Janhavi Haldipur, Julia Hanna, Sneha Parab and Akisanya Olanrewaju were each presented with scholarships by IFT scholarship chairs Christina Bednarz and S. Jay Hegenboden. The event was organized by Rose Trout, an instructor in the Department of Culinary Arts and Food Science.

The featured speaker was Rohan Tikekar, PhD, assistant professor of food science.  In addition, Chef Shola Olunloyo of Studio Kitchen prepared two specialty molecular cocktails during a demonstration.

The event also was attended by Mary Ellen Camire, PhD, president-elect of the national IFT committee.

Three of the students, Haldipur, Hanna and Parab were presented with $2,500 while Olanrewaju was awarded a $1,500 scholarship.

The dinner was prepared by culinary arts students in Chef Michael Traud’s a' la carte cuisine course.  Students in Adjunct Professor Paul O’Neil’s dining room operations course operated the front of the house during the dinner.