For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Nominations for The 2013 Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science

The Franklin Institute sought nominations for the 2013 Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science of individuals who have made significant scientific contributions to our understanding of the structure and function of photonic sources for communications, biomedical engineering, and display and illumination techniques. Nominations were sought to recognize efforts including, but not limited to:

  • Reduced dimensionality in optical sources
  • Quantum semiconductor lasers
  • Vertical cavity surface emitting lasers
  • Efficient optical sources for display and illumination
  • Photonic sources in data networking and storage
  • Photonic sources for biomedical applications
  • Chemical sensors using optical source technology

Nominations clearly indicated the scientific impacts of the nominee’s work, whether innovative, technical, conceptual, and/or integrative.  In cases of candidates with equal technical merit, the factor of current economic value of the discovery or application will weigh favorably on behalf of the candidate (Bower Will, 1988).

Prof. Kenichi Iga was being recognized for his scientific and technical contributions in development of Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Lasers. Recent recipients of the Bower Award and Prize for Achievement in Science are listed below:

*Prior to 1997 awards were designated by the year in which the Laureates were nominated; subsequently, awards are being identified by the year of presentation.


1990: Paul C. Lauterbur, Ph.D.

Chemistry, Biophysics and Bioengineering

1991: Solomon H. Snyder, M.D.


1992: Denis P. Burkitt

Life Science/Cancer Research

1993: Isabella L. Karle, Ph.D.


1994: Chen Ning Yang, Ph.D.


1995: Frederick P. Brooks, Jr., Ph.D.

Applied Mathematics/Computer Science

1997:* Ralph L. Brinster, V.M.D., Ph.D.


1998: Sir Martin Rees, Ph.D.


1999: Ralph J. Cicerone, Ph.D.

Earth and Environmental Science

2000: Alexander Rich, Ph.D.

Structural Biology

2001: Paul Baran


2002: John W. Cahn, Ph.D.

Materials Science

2003: Paul B. MacCready, Ph.D.


2004: Seymour Benzer, Ph.D.

Brain Research

2005: Henri B. Kagan, Ph.D.


2006: Narain G. Hingorani, Ph.D., Sc.D.

Electric Power Systems

2007: Stuart K. Card, Ph.D.

Human-Centered Computing

2008: Takeo Kanade, Ph.D.


2009: Sandra M. Faber, Ph.D.

The Cosmos

2010: W. Richard Peltier, FRSC

Earth Systems

2011: George M. Church, Ph.D.


2012: Louis E. Brus, Ph.D.