For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Drexel Engineering Doctoral Student Wins 2013 Lindau Award

March 5, 2013

Drexel Engineering doctoral student, Kristy Jost, has been selected to receive the 2013 Lindau Award after completing all application steps through a multi-stage selection process. The Lindau Award seeks students and young researchers nominated and selected by several sponsoring agencies and organizations, that must be currently enrolled as a full-time graduate student, be actively involved in a research project and have completed at least two academic years of study toward a doctoral degree in chemistry or in a related discipline by June 2013. Candidates are then reviewed by a group of panelists who search for the best talent to receive an all-expenses-paid trip to Lindau, Germany in July 2013 to attend the Nobel Laureates Meeting.

Jost is a second year doctoral student in the Materials Science and Engineering department, where her research focuses on a multidisciplinary approach to energy storage, utilizing both her background in fashion design and materials engineering, to create flexible supercapacitors, or “smart” garments that have a variety of real-world applications, in the healthcare industry, the army and for every day purposes. Jost is funded by the National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellowship and works under the advisement of Dr. Yury Gogotsi in the AJ Drexel Nanotechnology Institute.

Additionally, Kevin Freedman, a third year doctoral student in Drexel’s Chemical and Biological Engineering department was also a nominee for the award, with research focusing on nanopores for biophysics applications. Freedman is in the research group of Dr. MinJun Kim and is funded by the National Science FoundationGraduate Research Fellowship Program.

The 2013 63rd Annual Lindau Nobel Laureates Meeting will focus on chemistry from June 30 to July 5, 2013. For more information on the Lindau Nobel Laureates Meeting, please click here.