For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Drexel Engineering Announces Recipients of 2012 Tenure and Promotion

May 22, 2012

Dr. Joseph Hughes, Dean of the College of Engineering and Dr. Bruce Eisenstein, Vice Dean, announced this year's recipients of Tenure and Promotion at a reception on May 11 in the Paul Peck Center. Faculty from multiple departments within Drexel Engineering were awarded for their successful academic achievements, research and service.

The recipients of Promotion to Full Professor include:
Dr. Cameron Abrams (CBE)
Dr. Adam Fontecchio (ECE)
Dr. Paul Oh (MEM)
Dr. Dario Salvucci (CS)
Dr. Jack Zhou (MEM)

The recipients of Tenure & Promotion to Associate Professor include:
Dr. Alisa Clyne (MEM)
Dr. Ken Lau (CBE)
Dr. John Walsh (ECE)

Tenure is a right to continuing employment granted by the University to a faculty member upon the completion of the pretenure period. To encourage the thoroughness, fairness and objectivity of the reviews in which the work and activities of candidates with a wide range of interests and abilities are evaluated, the following four categories of evaluation are affirmed by Drexel University. Though no individual is expected to demonstrate excellence in all categories, it is expected that a successful candidate will demonstrate at least a satisfactory level of accomplishment in all four categories; (1) have expert knowledge of his or her academic field and a commitment to continuing development of this competence; (2) have evidence of effective teaching; (3) have a continuing program of research or other scholarship or creative activity, including production of art or artistic performance, or what is most appropriate to the particular academic discipline; and (4) have assumed a fair share of administrative and service tasks to the program, department, School or College, and university and to the profession at the national and/or international level.