For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Drexel ECE leads recipient list of IEEE Power and Energy Scholarships

November 21, 2013

The IEEE Power and Energy Society has announced the 228 2013 recipients of its scholarships (under the the IEEE PES Scholarship Plus Initiative™). 

The goal of the Initiative is to encourage undergraduate students to pursue careers in power and energy engineering.

Criteria for selection are:

  • Academic performance 

  • The alignment of the student's technical and personal interests with the power and energy engineering field

  • The student's personal strengths (such as achievements, volunteer activities, work experience and endorsement letters)

  • Strength of the institution's academic program (based on the institution's overall power and energy engineering curriculum)

Scholarship amounts are US$2,000 the first year, US$2,000 the second year and US$3,000 the third year. Not less important is the recognition of the students by IEEE PES which is quickly becoming the 'gold standard' for excellence in this field and a significant mark of distinction for the recipients.  

Drexel tied with Washington State University for the largest number of scholarship recipients in 2013, 9 awards this year. Since the beginning of the PES scholarship program, Drexel University has received the most scholarships - 29 scholarships for 20 students.

This year's scholarship recipients are:

  • Tim Androwick

  • Armando Elliott

  • Reid Flasinksi

  • Jamie Howard

  • Alexander Keller

  • Khaula Rashid

  • Kurt Russell

  • Shauna Walters

  • Gregory Yeutter

Congratulations to the students and to our power faculty, Drs. Miu, Niebur, and Nwankpa, for the recognition of the strong power program they have established in our department.

2013 IEEE PES recipients 2013 IEEE PES Scholarship recipients - Back row, left to right - Armando Elliott, Tim Androwick. Front row, left to right - Kurt Russell, Shauna Walters, Jamie Howard, Gregory Yeutter, Alexander Keller.