For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

ECE faculty member elected to the HKN Board of Governors

November 26, 2012

Timothy KurzwegThe IEEE Educational Activities Board has announced today the results of the election to the 11-member Board of Governors of Eta Kappa Nu (HKN). Founded in 1904, HKN is a membership organization dedicated to encouraging and recognizing excellence in several technical fields of interest, including Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Computer Science and Information Technology.  Members of HKN consist of students, alumni, and other professionals who have demonstrated exceptional academic and professional accomplishments. HKN has more than 200 chapters in the United States, Canada, India and China.  The Drexel chapter (Beta Alpha) was established in 1935 and over the years was distinguished by having three individuals from Drexel winning the HKN C. Holmes MacDonald Outstanding Electrical and Computer Engineering Teacher Award. Dr. Timothy Kurzweg was elected by the HKN chapters to serve as Member-at-Large on the HKN Board of Governors for the period 1/1/2013 through 12/31/2016. The Board of Governors determines the organization's policy, provides oversight, and acts in an advisory capacity to university chapters.  Dr. Kurzweg, who has received the C. Holmes MacDonald earlier this year, will also serve in 2015 and 2016 on the Board of Directors of IEEE, a position to which he was recently elected by close to 30,000 members of IEEE in the mid-Atlantic US.