For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Mohammad Madihian

Adjunct Professor

Mohammed Madihian
Phone: 919-641-5683

B.S., Iran University of Science and Technology
M.S., Shizuoka University
Ph.D., Shizuoka University

Research Interests

Solid-state device-circuit interaction; microwave and millimeter-wave monolithic circuit design and evaluation technology; solid-state power generation/amplification/mixing technology; single/multi-mode wireless RF/IF transceiver technology


In the past two decades, Dr. Mohammad Madihian has been very active in the industry. He has served as:

  • Managing Director at MEDIWAVE
  • Technical Director at Singapore Institute of Microelectronics
  • Director at NEC Corporation of America
  • Chief Patent Officer and Department Head at NEC Laboratories America
  • Research Manager at NEC Central Research Labs
He was a Visiting Professor at Tohoku University in 2012. He has a book on CMOS-RF and has authored/co-authored more than 210 journal/conference publications including 28 invited talks, and holds 80 registered or pending patents on wireless technology. Dr. Madihian received the IEEE Best Paper Microwave Prize in 1988 and IEEE Fellow Award in 1998. He holds 8 Distinguished R&D Achievement Awards and 4 IEEE Certificates of Recognition. He served as Guest Editor to the IEEE Journal of Solid-State Circuits, Japan IEICE Transactions on Electronics, and IEEE Transactions on MTT. He is currently an Associate Editor of Japan IEICE Transactions on Electronics and also serving on the MTT-S Editorial Board.

Dr. Madihian was the 2010 Secretary for the IEEE MTT-S and is currently an AdCom member of the Society. He was General Co-Chair of the 2012 IEEE Radio Frequency Integration Technology Conference (RFIT), Technical Program Chair of the 2013 IEEE International Wireless Symposium (IWS), and is General Chair of the 2018 IEEE International Microwave Symposium (IMS). He was General Chair for both the IEEE Radio & Wireless Symposium (RWS) and Compound Semiconductor IC Symposium (CSICS) in 2007, and the Technical Program Chair for these symposia in 2006. He served on the CSICS ExCom from 2000 to 2010 and was the ExCom Chair Emeritus in 2008. He also served as the RWS ExCom Chair from 2008 to 2010 and is the 2014 RFIT ExCom Chair. He was the Editor-in-Chief, International Journal of Microwave Science and Technology since its inception in 2006 until 2009.