For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.


Celebrating the Class of 2016

Relive the excitement as the Dornsife School of Public Health celebrated it's first school-specific graduation ceremony and the first graduate of our Bachelor's of Science in Public Health program.

Class of 2016

Philadelphia Health Commissioner Inspires Graduates

Watch Thomas Farley, MD, MPH, Health Commissioner of the City of Philadelphia, encourage Dornsife School of Public Health bachelor's, master's and doctoral students to "think big" and "save lives by the thousands."

2016 Dornsife Award Recipients

Congratulations to the students, faculty, preceptors and staff who were recognized for their leadership, mentorship, community engagement and academic achievements in 2016.

Academic Honors

Students with a 4.0 GPA through winter quarter 2016: Christina Bowles, Cendie Crawley, Emily Joyce Curren, Michelle Dougherty, Janet Fleetwood, Nancy Hansen, Erica Harris, Samantha James, Elizabeth Kauffman, Kathryn McNamara, Cynthia Wong.

Delta Omega Inductees

Lindsay Berrigan, Ruth Boansi, Christina Bowles, Michelle Dougherty, Kara Fisher, Rosie Mae Henson, Samantha James, Elizabeth Kauffman, Brittany Koch, Alexander Long, Kathryn McNamara, Olufunlayo Osayameh, Ellen Ossola, Anthony Siciliano, Diana Thao, Cynthia Wong.

Community Service Award

For a graduating student who has demonstrated exceptional dedication to community service.

Recipient: Ruth Boansi

Nominees: Ruth Boansi, Christina Bowles, Brittany Koch

Student Public Health Practice Award

For a student or student team that has demonstrated a commitment to advancing the practice of public health.

Recipient: Rosie Mae Henson

Nominees: Christina Bowles, Alana Cordeiro, Rosie Mae Henson

Leadership Excellence Award

The award is for a graduating student who has demonstrated exceptional leadership ability.

Recipient: Christina Bowles

Nominees: Laila Abdallah, Ruth Boansi, Christina Bowles, Kiana Hardy, Bhavika Patel

Student Government Organization

The Dornsife School of Public Health recognizes the Student Government Organization (SGO) representatives for their service to the school and the student body: Laila Abdullah, Eman Addish, Brenna Aumaier, Ruth Boansi, Victoria Clements, Andy Fox, Kiana Hardy, Bhavika Patel, Tara Van Doren.

Faculty Public Health Practice Award

For a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to the practice of public health through research, scholarship, teaching or mentorship of students.

Recipient: Sandra Bloom, MD


Sandra Bloom, Associate Professor, Health Management and Policy
Alison Evans, Associate Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Longjian Liu, Associate Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Yvonne Michael, Associate Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Preceptor Public Health Practice Award

This award recognizes a Dornsife partner for exceptional contributions to student practical experiences or to the teaching and mentoring of students.

Recipient: Stacey Trooskin, MD, PhD


Amal El-Nageh, Program Evaluation and HR Specialist, Jewish Family and Children's Service
Longjian Liu, Associate Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Stacey Trooskin, Assistant Professor, Drexel College of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases

Golden Apple Awards

This award honors faculty for outstanding teaching and commitment to the academic experience of students.

Recipients: Thersa Sweet, PhD, MPH, and Loni Philip Tabb, PhD

Mentor Recognition Award

The award is given by Dornsife public health students to a member of the Dornsife public health community in recognition of outstanding contributions to mentorship, student advising, teaching or other service to the school.

Recipient: Amy Carroll-Scott, PhD, MPH


Jeanette Bowles, Adjunt Faculty, Community Health and Prevention
Amy Carroll-Scott, Assistant Professor, Community Health and Prevention
Rosie Mae Henson, Health Management and Policy
Jessica Lopez, Research Project Coordinator, Community Health and Prevention
Phillip Massey, Assistant Professor, Community Health and Prevention
Thersa Sweet, Assistant Teaching Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Michael Yudell, Associate Professor, Community Health and Prevention

Staff Excellence Awards

The Staff Excellence Award recognizes staff members for outstanding contributions and service to the school.

Recipients: Victoria Egan and Idris Robinson, MPH '13


Patience Ajoff-Foster, Program Manager, Community Health and Prevention
Diane Benckert, Executive Assistant II, Dean's Office
Georgeanne Bieg, Sr. Business Administrator, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Mary Genevieve Carty, Educational Program Manager, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Karen DeVose, Academic Advisor, Academic and Faculty Affairs
Angelita Dorsey, Administrative Coordinator, Community Health and Prevention
Victoria Egan, Deputy Director, Center for Hunger-Free Communities
Tom Hipper, Program Manager, Environmental and Occupational Health
Allison Keene, Program Coordinator II, Health Management and Policy
Jessica Lopez, Research Project Coordinator, Community Health and Prevention
Kayli Moran, Assistant Director, Student Services, Student Affairs
Idris Robinson, Assistant Director, Office of Global Health
Lucy Robinson, Assistant Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Thersa Sweet, Assistant Teaching Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Caroline Voyles, Director, Student Placement, Public Health Practice

Drexel University Graduate College Award Winners

DSPH faculty, students, and staff received awards at Drexel's Graduate Student Day on May 16.

Outstanding Dissertation: Honorable Mention given to Aimee Palumbo, Epidemiology

These awards are presented to doctoral students in recognition of excellence in dissertation research and to encourage the highest levels of scholarship, research and writing.

Outstanding Promise: Honorable Mention given to Michael Thomas, Biostatistics

These awards are presented to graduate students who are deemed to exhibit great promise for regional, national or societal impact, and accordingly, for enhancing Drexel's reputation, now and in the future.

Graduate Spirit: Kiana Hardy, Arjita Rai, Kathleen Rowe

Outstanding Faculty: Jerald Fagliano

Outstanding Staff: Kayli Moran

Most Active Organization: SGO

Most Popular Event of the Year: National Public Health Week

Best New Organization: Global Health Forum (GHF)

Most Improved Organization: Environmental and Occupational Health Club (EOH)

To view all of the of the Graduate College Award Winners, visit the Graduate College website.

Relive Graduation Weekend 2016