For a better experience, click the Compatibility Mode icon above to turn off Compatibility Mode, which is only for viewing older websites.

Diversity & Inclusive Excellence Committee

Drexel University has a strong commitment to the value of diversity, as elucidated in our University Strategic Plan 2012-2017. In that plan, diversity is included among our shared values. The plan states that Drexel strives to, “Create and support a diverse university in all of its manifestations both because diversity has instrumental value – it makes Drexel’s students, faculty, and university community more competitive globally – and because diversity has inherent value – it fosters understanding, respect, and opportunity – thereby forging a better university for all.” In keeping with our goal of fostering a diverse and inclusive environment, in 2012 President John Fry commissioned the Diversity and Inclusive Excellence Committee.

In Academic Year 2014-2015, in order to set goals into action and create an opportunity for members to come together under common interests, the committee voted in favor of creating four subcommittees that focus on specific target groups and the diversity efforts among them. Each subcommittee meets monthly while the steering committee as a whole meets quarterly to collaborate and report on subcommittee goals and accomplishments.

Subcommittee on Faculty / University Advisory Committee on Faculty Diversity

Janet Fleetwood, Co-Chair Vice Provost, Strategic Initiatives
Director, Office of Faculty Development & Equity
Professor, Dornsife School of Public Health
Theodore Corbin, Co-Chair Director, Combined MD/MPH Degree Program
Director, Healing Hurt People, Center for Nonviolence and Social Justice
Associate Professor, College of Medicine and School of Public Health           
Ludo Scheffer, Co-Chair Chair, Faculty Senate
Director of Undergraduate Studies (Psychology) and Teaching Professor, College of Arts & Sciences
Ellonda Green, Secretary Senior Academic Coordinator, Office of the Provost
Abieyuwa Aghayere Senior Associate Dean, Goodwin College of Professional Studies
Professor, College of Engineering
Adam Benforado Associate Professor, Kline School of Law
Yuanfang Cai  Associate Professor, College of Computing and Informatics 
Veronica Carey Assistant Clinical Professor and Associate Director of the Saturday Scholars Program,
College of Nursing and Health Professions
Stephen Cox Co-Principal Investigator and Project Director, Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation
Russell D'Aiello  Senior Programmer Analyst, Office of Institutional Research, Assessment and Effectiveness
John DiNardo  Senior Vice Provost, Academic Affairs
Professor, College of Arts and Sciences 
Aroutis Foster  Assistant Professor, School of Education 
Mark Freeman  Vice Provost, Institutional Research, Assessment and Effectiveness
David Gefen  Professor and Provost Distinguished Research Professor, LeBow College of Business
Valerie Ifill  Assistant Teaching Professor, Westphal College of Media Arts & Design 
Ann Klassen  Professor, School of Public Health 
Ozlem Ogutveren-Gonul  Assistant Teaching Professor, Close School of Entrepreneurship
Michele Rovinsky-Mayer  Associate Vice President, Equality & Diversity 
Maria Schultheis  Director of Clinical Training and Associate Professor, College of Arts & Sciences
Ellen Staurowsky  Professor, Center for Hospitality & Sports Management
Margaret Wheatley  Professor, School of Biomedical Engineering, Science and Health Systems 

Subcommittee on Professional Staff

Michele Rovinsky-Mayer, Co-Chair Associate Vice President, Equality & Diversity
Louis Bellardine, Co-Chair

Vice President, Human Resources

Shirley Grass  Associate Director, Learning & Organizational Development, Human Resources 
Ellonda Green  Senior Academic Coordinator, Office of the Provost 
Alexandra Morrison  Equal Opportunity Compliance Specialist, Office of Equality and Diversity 
Subir Sahu Interim Assistant Vice President, Student Life

Subcommittee on Supporting Student Diversity

Randall Deike, Co-Chair Senior Vice President, Enrollment Management & Student Success
Chris Ferguson, Co-Chair

Vice President and Dean, Admissions

Stephen Cox  Co-Principal Investigator and Project Director, Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation 
Tatiana Diaz  Director, Student Center for Inclusion and Culture 
John DiNardo Senior Vice Provost, Academic Affairs
Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
Subir Sahu Interim Assistant Vice President, Student Life
Rebecca Weidensaul Associate Dean of Students 

Subcommittee on Community & University Outreach

Brian Keech, Chair Senior Vice President, Government and Community Relations
John DiNardo  Senior Vice Provost, Academic Affairs
Professor, College of Arts and Sciences 
Sherita Glen Program Director, Diversity, College of Medicine Student Affairs
Lucy Kerman Vice Provost, University and Community Partnerships
Anika Warren Senior Associate Vice President, Foundation and Corporate Relations

Members at Large

Mary Moran Vice Dean, Faculty Affairs and Professional Development
Interim Chair & Associate Professor, Pediatrics
John Rich Professor, School of Public Health
James Herbert  Interim Provost and Interim Senior Vice President, Academic Affairs 
Ross Hewitt  Director, Compensation, Human Resources 
Anna Chrulkiewicz  Associate Dean, LeBow College of Business 
Loretta Sweet Jemmott  Vice President, Health and Health Equity